(Credit Image: © Studio MEV and uspontedecimo.it)


BEN HERMANS GREAT VICTORY IN ITALY. Full article from © Israel Cycling Academy

by Valentino Pietro Sucato. Accedi al link 🇮🇹 da Notiziario Sicilia

Tomorrow, 24 June, the 82nd edition of the historic Giro dell’Appennino will take place along the Piedmontese and Ligurian roads. The race will start from Pasturana, arriving in Genoa after a long 192 km. For the more nostalgic cycling enthusiasts, the legendary Bocchetta passage will be absent this year due to some maintenance road works taking place in Voltaggio.

There will be several climbs throughout the route: Fraconalto, Crocefieschi, Crocetta d’Orero from the Sant’Olcese side, and then the Madonna della Guardia (7 km at 7.8% avg and with 21% peaks). From the Madonna della Guardia summit, there will be only 25 kms to the finish line.

Three World Tour teams are taking part in the race: Ineos Grenadiers, Israel Start-Up Nation and UAE Team Emirates.

Among the favourites are Thomas Pidcock, Gianni Moscon, Juan Ayuso and Diego Ulissi. See the full start-list on procyclingstats.com

In 1934, the first edition was won by Augusto Como who won also the following year. Alfredo Martini (1947), Giorgio Albani (1952, 1954), Fausto Coppi (1955), Balmamion (1962), Zilioli (1963, 1973), Dancelli (1965, 1966, 1967), Motta (1968, 1970), Gimondi (1969, 1972) all won this prestigious race before the tyranny of Baronchelli, winner for 6 consecutive races from 1977 to 1982.

Beccia, after three second places, won in 1984. Moser, Bugno, Battaglin, Argentin, Chiappucci, Nibali, Cunego, Casagrande, Ciccone, Tonkov, Berzin, Colbrelli (the new Italian champion) also put their mark on this iconic Italian pro race.

(All pictures and articles, copyright @ by the author, we use, are for editorial and non-commercial usages only)