Updated on 5 May //

Natnael Berhane, Simone Consonni, Nicolas Edet, Victor Lafay, Rémy Rochas, Fabio Sabatini, Attilio Viviani and Elia Viviani will be the Cofidis riders taking part in the Giro d’Italia which starts on Saturday. To guide them are sporting directors Roberto Damiani and Jean-Luc Jonrond. The French team will be captained by Elia Viviani, the former European champion will do everything to achieve an 80th victory of his career. Already victorious in the Cholet – Pays de la Loire, the Veronese recovered from an accident suffered in Belgium and worked to perfect his preparation at the Tour de Romandie. From equipecofidis.com

Rudy Molard will be joined by Sebastien Reichenbach to lead combative Groupama-FDJ a the Giro d’Italia in the absence of Pinot. The team also includes Antoine Duchesne, Romain Seigle, Attila Valter, Matteo Badilatti, Simon Guglielmi and 22-year-old Dutch rider Lars van den Berg who is taking on his first Grand Tour. From @gruporamaFDJ

Rwanda: The fourth stage of the Tour du Rwanda, 123.9-kilometer from Kigali to the uphill end in Musanze, gave the first joy as a pro rider to the 23years old French Valentin Ferron (Total Direct Energie). The stage had five GPMs, two of which in the first category, and Ferron sprinted in front of Pierre Rolland. The group with the favourites for the general classification reached the finish line after 1’29” and once again were regulated by Brayan Sanchez who was able to keep the leader’s jersey. In the general classification there are nine man with the same time and tomorrow, in the fifth stage, the difficult Kimironko’s arrival may fully shake-up the current standings. Full results procyclingstats and below the final 1.3Kms

In line with expectations, Sam Bennett wins the first stage of the Volta ao Algarve, the 189.5km Lagos – Portimao. The Irishman of the Deceuninck Quick Step preceded in order the Dutch Danny Van Poppel and the Spanish Jon Aberasturi. The stage was characterized by the breakaway of five runners, Carlos Canal (Burgos BH), Jon Irisarri (Caja Rural / Seguros RGA), Hugo Nunes (Radio Popular / Boavista), Cesar Nicolas Paredes (Louletano) and Gustavo Cesar Veloso (Atum / Tavira), their attack ended with less than 20 km from the end due to the work of the Deceuninck and the Bora in front of the peloton. A fall in the group took place 4.3 km from the finish line and many lost precious time and the opportunity to sprint (Fabio Jakobsen also ended up on the ground, fortunately without serious consequences). When the last kilometer begins, the Wolfpack is compact in the leading positions, Davide Ballerini and Michael Morkov guided Bennett to consume another victory with a masterful sprint. Full results procyclingstats and the race RoadBook

(All pictures, copyright @ by the author, we use, are for editorial and non-commercial usages only)